Sapulpa names Teacher, Employee of the Year

Hurt, Brallier win Teacher, Support Employee of the Year
Posted on 05/14/2021
Megan Hurt wins 2021 District Teacher of the Year(SPS) -- “The 2021 Sapulpa Public Schools District Teacher of the Year is Megan Hurt.”

That was the announcement made by Superintendent Rob Armstrong and 2020 District Teacher of the Year Danielle Nagel at the annual Teacher of the Year, Support Employee of the Year Banquet Friday night at First Baptist Church Sapulpa.

"I heard a quote yesterday - be the rainbow in someone else's cloud - and I thought, you know, these past 14 months have been so cloudy in so many ways and we're the rainbows, the teachers, the teachers are the rainbows. We've brightened the kids year," said Mrs. Hurt. "Their smiling faces have meant everything."

Mrs. Hurt is a Title I teacher at Freedom Elementary. She primarily works with students in Kindergarten through 3rd grades to enhance their reading skills.

“I love shaping the lives of children who are the future of our community. I am honored to teach in my hometown and proud to be a Sapulpa Chieftain," said Mrs. Hurt.

The banquet was a smaller-than-usual crowd of community members, legislators, school administration, and family of the eight site Teachers of the Year and three finalists for Support Employee of the Year.

Service Center employee Chad Brallier was announced as the Support Employee of the Year. Mr. Brallier, who has been with the school district for three years, is the mechanic who keeps our school buses mechanically safe and sound for our students and staff.

“I get to do exactly what I love to do, help people by fixing things,” said Mr. Brallier.

Each of the eleven finalists were recognized with a personal citation from State Representative Mark Lawson. Rep. Kyle Hilbert and Sen. James Leewright were unable to make it due to a schedule conflict.

Determining the District Teacher of the Year is the culmination of a two-month process that started with each school selecting its Teacher of the Year. From there the eight TOYs prepared a portfolio about their background and teaching philosophy and submitted it to the Teacher of the Year Committee. The committee reviewed each of the portfolios and narrowed the list down to three finalists. Those three teachers were then called in this week for a 30-minute interview with the 13-member committee.

Based on a rubric, the teachers are scored on their responses and the teacher with the highest point total is determined the District Teacher of the Year. Again, the 2021 District Teacher of the Year is Megan Hurt of Freedom Elementary.

Thank you to American Fidelity, American Heritage Bank, First Baptist Church, First United Bank, Sapulpa Education Foundation, and SeneGence International for the generous monetary awards and gifts that made this evening special for our Teachers of the Year and Support Employee of the Year finalists.

Congratulations to both Mrs. Hurt and Mr. Brallier!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.