Sapulpa Ping Pings win state championships

Pings bring home three state titles in 2020
Posted on 12/17/2020
Sapulpa Ping Pings(SPS) -- Fourth grade.

The last time the Sapulpa Ping Pings did not win a State Championship, the class of 2021 was in elementary school.

For the eighth year in a row, the Pings have proven they are the best in the state with their team wins in 5A Kick and 5A Mix in the Oklahoma State Dance Team Directors' Association State Championships. The ladies were also awarded the Overall Technique Award for their body of work, and Kick also received Overall High Point which is the highest Kick score of all Kick dances among the 2A through 5A schools and All-Star teams.

The Pings have now laid claim to state titles in 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020. In addition to the team wins, Brooklyn Berry and Libby Chaffin won the title for Duo Small Ensemble.

Three state titles in one very different year.

The girls had to maneuver through shutdowns, quarantines, distance learning, tighter restrictions on practices, and shutdowns because of the coronavirus pandemic. The OSDTDA State Championships, typically live with performances in front of an audience, were virtual this year. The dance routines were performed in the empty gym at the high school with a few members of Chieftain Television capturing their dances on video to submit to the judges.

Despite the challenges, the results were the same and another year will be added to the banner in the Chieftain Center rafters.

The Pings also had two runner-up finishes: the Senior Solo competition featuring Chloe Voss and the Large Ensemble featuring Libby Chaffin, Jaylan Martin, Chloe Voss, Morgan Webb, Brooklyn Berry, Ryann Hoey, and Jaselyn Rossman.

Check out the dances on the Sapulpa Ping Pings Facebook page.

Congratulations to Demi Ernst, Jaylan Martin, Paige Janitz, Ashley Johnson, Elizabeth Chaffin, Sam Archer, Heather Sparks, Morgan Webb, Chloe Voss, Brooklyn Berry, Ryann Hoey, Maddie Craig, Gracy Price, Pearl Smith, Avery Kennedy, Kiley Sontag, Ella Chaffin, Kelsi Shibley, Brooklin Latham, Emma Williams, Belle Cothren, Acree Ernst, Jaselyn Rossman, Kate DeLoache, and coaches Molly Heritage and Jennifer Gardella!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.