Johnny Bilby earns Administrator of the Year award

Asst. Superintendent Bilby wins state award
Posted on 05/26/2020
Johnny Bilby(SPS) – The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators announced Sapulpa Public Schools Assistant Superintendent Johnny Bilby as the 2020 OASA District 8 Assistant Superintendent/Central Office Administrator of the Year.

“Selecting Administrators of the Year is always exciting,” said Dr. Pam Deering, CCOSA/OASA Executive Director. “I am especially proud of these awardees this school year who have faced more challenges than any of us could have expected. They have worked tirelessly to ensure the most success possible for their students and school communities. Johnny Bilby is among some of the best Oklahoma administrators. We’re so proud to recognize his efforts.”

OASA annually recognizes outstanding administrators who:
  • Demonstrate successful experience in top-level educational administration
  • Have a sound, dynamic and realistic philosophy of education
  • Can inspire and motivate people and give support and recognition for the contributions of others
  • Have a record of continued professional and personal growth through appropriate training and experiences including skills in human relations and the stamina to cope with the pressures of the job
  • Have the ability to speak for education on all levels with special emphasis on the district level
  • Have made contributions to educational administration

OASA has 20 Districts that consist of multiple counties. Eligible OASA members are nominated and selected by their peers in their OASA District.

Bilby is a 1991 graduate of Sapulpa High School. After college, he returned home in 1997 and began his career in education at Sapulpa Junior High. In addition to teaching History, he also coached football and baseball. In 2000, Bilby moved to Kellyville Public Schools to teach and coach varsity football. Soon thereafter he was promoted to high school assistant principal and head football coach. Bilby returned to Sapulpa in 2005 and eventually became the principal of Sapulpa High School and Sapulpa Junior High. In 2016, Bilby was named Assistant Superintendent of Sapulpa Public Schools.

“I am extremely thankful and humbled to have received this recognition,” said Bilby. “I work in what I believe is the best school district and community in the state. No two days are alike and it can be incredibly challenging to work in the field of education, but the foundation of this industry, and its most important asset, is the students. It is our responsibility to put their needs first in everything we do - whether that’s personal professional development to advancing instructional opportunities for our students to decisions that affect the entire district. We must ensure we’re putting students on the best possible track to succeed. When you put the students first, everything else seems to naturally fall into place.”

Bilby will be recognized at the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA) Summer Leadership Conference Virtual Experience on June 4.

Visit the CCOSA website to see past Administrator of the Year awardees. For more information about OASA and CCOSA, please visit


OASA supports adequate funding for Oklahoma public schools, supports accountability measures, rigorous and relevant academics, fair treatment of education employees, and seeks to reduce state intrusion in local board of education matters.

The Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration is an incorporated, not for profit organization which establishes close and continuous communication and cooperation between educators, taxpayers and legislators to improve the effectiveness of professional school administrators and to communicate the needs of the schools. The Council is the umbrella organization for the following professional associations: the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA), the Oklahoma Association of Secondary School Principals (OASSP), the Oklahoma Association of Elementary School Principals (OAESP), the Oklahoma Middle Level Education Association (OMLEA), and the Oklahoma Directors of Special Services (ODSS).
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.